Training Day

Today was a training day.  No, not the Denzel kind, the kind where you work the muscle groups you wouldn’t normally work, just chugging along the roadside.  I decided rather than popping another dvd in, I’d pop myself outside for some fresh air and sunshine.  I kind of winged it on my own, without any real plan.  Here’s what my workout looked like-

Workout:

  1. After a nice long stretch, I started with a 5 minute slow jog around the perimeter of the backyard.  I figured the grass would be easier on my shins and knees, and my yard’s pretty shady- which was nice for a change.
  2. Next, I did sprints across the yard(at 60% speed), back and forth without stopping for 4 straights.
  3. I recovered for 2 mins and did walking lunges across the yard- to and fro.
  4. I immediately launched into backwards runs(to and fro),
  5. Then another round of walking lunges (to and fro).  Ouch.
  6. Sprints (at full power), back and forth for 4 straights.
  7. Recover for 2 minutes
  8. Side shuffle (to and fro) x 4
  9. Backwards runs (to and fro).
  10. Wall sit against the fence for 1 minute.
  11. Side shuffle (to and fro) x 4
  12. Wall sit (1 minute)

Then, I headed inside for some arm and core work.  I grabbed my 3 lb dumbells, and did 2 sets of 12 reps of the following:

  1. Overhead tricep extensions(combining both weights with both hands together)
  2. Standing bicep curls(with both weights in one hand, 2 sets for each arm)
  3. Chest fly while lying down (for 1 set)
  4. Oblique crunches (x 25)
  5. Chest fly (for 1 set)
  6. Reverse crunch (x 25)
  7. Plank hold for 1 minute

All done!

That was a fun, sweaty workout, that got my heart pumping and muscles working!

Breakfast:  I actually ate breakfast before my workout this morning, since I was so hungry.  I loaded my plate lumberjack style:

IMG_1453

It hit the spot and fueled my workout.  I heart bacon 🙂

Oh, and in case you are just dying to know (ha!)- yesterday my breakfast was waaaay out of the norm.  No oats for this girl!

IMG_1452

I know, shocking right?  Who knew I could fix something other than oats or eggs…  haha.

Alright, I’m off to shower and head to Hobby Lobby.  I have fall crafts and decor on the brain, and need some  visual inspiration.  I usually decorate for Halloween, but for some reason leaves and pumpkins are calling to me, rather than skeletons and spiders.  We’ll see…

Questions:

  • Do you prefer Halloween or Autumn/Fall decor?  
  • What is your favorite time of year to decorate for?

I think Christmas is my favorite holiday for decorating.  I have a ‘thing’ for twinkling lights and go a bit overboard in that department.  I think I inherited that little trait from my dad;)  I’ve always done gold and white in the past, but last year switched things up and started a new candy themed Christmas tree.  I can’t wait to pull it all out of storage again and ‘sweeten’ the house up!  🙂

Have a great Thursday!

Amy

 

 

8 thoughts on “Training Day

  1. Pingback: FOOD! | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

