Success!

Howdy everyone!

I’m feeling pretty good today becaaauussse- I had a great run!

Workout:  This morning’s run was a 21.33 minute jog, with only 2 minutes of walking!  Before I hit the pavement, I decided to take my friend, Amy’s, advice.  Yesterday she told me when she was training for her first 5K, she limited herself to 2 minutes for walk breaks.  No more than two minutes.  I thought that sounded like a great goal, since I seem to have fallen in the habit of completely recovering from jogging, before jumping back into it.  So, with that in mind, I pushed myself to keep going until I felt I was absolutely losing form and completely out of breath.  I made it to around the 15-16 minute mark before falling into a walk for the planned two minutes.  Two minutes turned out to be plenty of time to catch my breath and regain my stance, before I charged back into it(including up that annoying hill!) and back to my house!  Yay for small victories!

Screenshot_2013-09-12-12-11-20

 

So close to hitting that 2 mile mark!  🙂

Breakfast:  This morning was a couple of over-easy eggs sprinkled with spicy salt, and a piece of whole wheat cinnamon raisin toast.  I quickly toasted a second piece of toast after I finished the first- running makes me hungry!

IMG_1438

My mini-running success wasn’t the only one I wanted to share.  Check out what my oldest kiddo, Colette, did yesterday at her rhythmic gymnastics class-

IMAG1056

She’s becoming so flexible!  She’s been working really hard at home, stretching and practicing whenever she has a free minute.  I’m so proud of her!  She’s becoming quite the graceful ballerina/gymnast 🙂

Questions:

  • Have you made any ‘mini-accomplishments’ in the running department lately?
  • Are you a super flexible ‘Gumby‘ like Colette, or does it stress you out just thinking about touching your toes?

When I was around 9 years old, my mom enrolled my sister, Rachel, and I in a beginner’s ballet class.  The teacher deemed us the ‘rubber band girls’ because of our crazy flexibility.  We could both over-split in every direction- it was nuts.  I’m not as flexible now as I was then, but much to my amazement, I recently discovered I can still do a right split!  Not too bad for an out of shape mom of two:)  haha

Have a great Thursday!

Amy

 

6 thoughts on “Success!

  1. Oh wow, your daughter is flexible!! I am so not…never have been. It is quite pathetic! Good job on your run!! You’ll be surprised how quickly you’ll be able to run farther!

  2. Yayyyy!! I am so happy to hear that the 2 minute breaks worked for you! And CONGRATS on running 15 minutes nonstop! That is really amazing. You are going to be to that 2 mile mark before you know it. Have you thought about signing up for a 5K this fall? I bet you’ll totally be ready by like October/November! Maybe a Thanksgiving or Halloween themed run??

    Ok, I’ll stop getting ahead of myself 🙂

Leave a Reply

