Tres Leches In The Works!

Hey everybody!

Hope your morning is going smoothly.  I must admit, I am rather moody today and seriously had to kick my own butt out of the door this morning for my run.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  Colette missed her bus this morning(which comes by our street twice- luckily), so I waited with her for an extra 10 minutes before I could head back to the house to do a quick stretch and chug some water.  This all put me outside around 8:30, which in Houston, means I was basically running through a boiling pot of water.  Seriously.  The weather app was telling me it was 76 degrees, but with the sun and humidity, it sure didn’t feel like it.  I have a yucky decision to make- wake up at 5:30 am(in order to have an hour before the kids get up) and run alone in the scary dark(but enjoy the cooler air), or see the kids off to school and try to stick it out under the hot sun and pray I don’t pass out…?  I’m not really liking either of these options.  There has to be a better solution….

Let’s take a look at today’s workout-

Workout:  Week 6, Day 2 of C25K– Brisk warm up walk for 5 minutes, followed by 10 minutes of running, 3 minutes of walking, and 10 minutes of running.   Now, here’s what actually happened- I completed the first 10 min of running, walked for 4 minutes, and ran an additional 6 minutes before making the miserable exhausted walk back to my house.  I’m glad I got out there and did something, rather just sitting at home, grouchy and miserable, even if it was 5 minutes shy of the actual set workout.  But I am disappointed it wasn’t better.  Let’s hope Friday’s run goes a little more smoothly.  🙂

Breakfast:  I wasn’t in the mood for anything hot, so I toasted a couple of pieces of whole wheat cinnamon toast, and topped them with some cold and creamy part skim ricotta cheese, a shake of cinnamon, and some fresh raspberries.

IMG_1318

It hit the spot!

Well, in spite of the fact that I woke up in a bad mood, today is actually a day to celebrate… it’s Dennis’ birthday today!  Yep, my old hubby(haha) turns 34 today, so the girls and I decided a yummy cake was in order.  Dennis doesn’t typically go for anything too chocolately or anything heavily frosted, so we decided to go with something a little different- tres leches cake!  Meredith recently checked out a children’s recipe book from our local library- Emeril’s There’s A Chef In My World!- and she was immediately drawn to the tres leches recipe within.

IMG_1314

IMG_1295

In case you’ve never had tres leches before, it’s a spongy, sweet cake, soaked with ‘3’ different kinds of milk(hence the name).  It’s one of my favorites, and I’ve always wanted to try my hand at making it.  I will say, that while this was a ‘kid’s book’ recipe, this sucker took some time to make, and involved a bunch of steps(not to mention a bunch of eggs, 6 to be exact!)

I didn’t take any pictures during the batter portion of the cake making, because everything has to be done quickly so that the egg meringue doesn’t fall.  Plus, I was supervising an 8 year old trying to dump flour into a speeding Kitchen Aid whisk- not so easy:)

I call this my 'Machine'

I call this my ‘Machine’

In a nutshell, here is what Meredith and I did:  we separated 6 egg yolks out, and dumped the 6 egg whites into the mixer bowl and whipped them to soft peaks.  Then we slowly added 2 cups of sugar and each egg yolk until combined, plus, a tsp of vanilla.  Then we threw in our dry mix of 2 C of flour and 2 tsp baking powder, plus 1/2 c of whole milk to the mixture.  Once that was done, we quickly poured our batter into a greased and floured 9×13 inch baking pan, and popped it into the oven preheated at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

IMG_1290

IMG_1300

Mmmmm

While letting the cake cool for 10 minutes, Colette made the 3 milk mix to pour over the warm cake.  This is the part of the recipe that makes the cake super moist and delicious.  She combined 1(12 oz) can of evaporated milk, 2(14 oz) cans of sweetened condensed milk, and 2 C of heavy cream in a blender, and blended on on high for 45 seconds, and then poured the mix over the cake, a bit at a time, until all of the mix was used.

IMG_1301

IMG_1303

Make sure you give your milk plenty of time to absorb before adding more.  Don’t be impatient and let this happen:

IMG_1304

Yeah, that was my doing.  Oops.

Once your cake is soaked, allow it to cool completely before covering with foil and popping in the fridge overnight.  Yes, I said overnight.  I know, this cake is a serious commitment!

IMG_1306

And guess what?  You’re still not finished!  We still have to ice it with homemade whipped cream, which the girls and I will do when they get home from school.  Let’s just hope it turns out to be yummy and looks something like this:

IMG_1297

Okay, so maybe we don’t want it to look exactly like a cartoon block of styrofoam, but you get the idea.  🙂

I’ll post the final photos of the cake tomorrow along with the full recipe and review(and Dennis’ comments).

Have a fantastic Wednesday!

Amy

 

7 thoughts on “Tres Leches In The Works!

  1. This cake is actually perfect and is screaming my name! Well if I could eat gluten and dairy lol BUT I am certain my family will LOVE IT!!! I just got a stand mixer for my birthday yesterday and have been brainstorming the first thing I should make it in…I think I just found a winner!

  2. Umm wow!! That cake looks so delicious!! I keep trying to convince my fiancé that we desperately need a KitchenAid mixer. Life or death situation here. But he’s not getting it..grrrr. Happy Bday to your husband!!

  3. Pingback: Quinoa and Eggplant ‘Meatless’ Meatballs + Tres Leches (the finale) | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

