Birthday + First Day of School!

Hey everybody!

Hope you all had a great weekend!  I am sitting in my living room listening to the rain and enjoying the complete silence of the house.  It’s quiet because my girlies have gone back to school!  🙂 – 😦

100CANON

IMG_1288

It’s always a bittersweet time for me, but I know they were ready to get back in a routine and see their friends.

Before I get to Mer’s birthday party, let me start with this morning’s run.

Workout:  Today was the official start of Week 6, day 1 of c25k training.  Here’s what the run looked like:  5 minute warm up walk, followed by:  5 min of jogging, 3 min of walking, 8 min of jogging, 3 min of walking, and 5 minutes of jogging.  With all of the ‘first-day’ jitters going on this morning, I completely forgot to stretch before I bolted out the door for my run, which I think mentally threw me off more than anything.  I kept thinking- “Man, my legs feel so tight, and what if I pull something?”  Of course, everything was fine, but I did spend the last 30 seconds of my 8 minute run, walking before the buzzer announced it was time to walk.  I was pretty out of breath and tired.  I will say, the weather was awesome.  It was cloudy, cool-ish, with plenty of breeze coming through.  Thank goodness the rain held off until after I got back to the house.  Hurray for another day checked off the list!

Breakfast:  I wasn’t too hungry until after Dennis left this morning, so I fixed myself two fried eggs and a piece of whole wheat cinnamon raisin toast, with just a smidge of butter, and a cup of coffee with coconut vanilla creamer.  Easy and filling.

IMG_1289

Moving on to Mer’s party!  As you may remember, my little Meredith turned 8 back in June, which we celebrated with family at a frozen yogurt shop.  Well, being the disorganized person that I am, I finally got around to planning a ‘friend’ party for Meredith at a local laser tag venue, called Laser Quest.  Needless to say, the girls had a blast!  (p.s. forgive the horrible photo quality, I forgot my good camera!  Doh!)

IMAG0975

And of course, Dennis and I probably had a little too much fun shooting innocent little girls with laser guns as well…  haha.

IMAG0981

After the games, we ordered pizza and rather than the tradiitional birthday cake, Mer opted for a tower of donuts from our favorite donut shop- Shipleys.  You can’t tell from the photo, but the candles had colored flames for each candle color- they were so cool!

IMAG0993

IMAG0995

Mer got plenty of fun gifts, including one of her favorites- Friends Legos!  My kids love Legos.

IMAG1005

After presents were opened, we gathered into the main lobby to wait for rides and play video games.  The party was a success, and I’m so glad Mer got to spend some fun time with her buddies.  🙂

IMAG0986

That about wraps it up for me!  I’m off to grocery shop and clean house.  I still can’t believe how quiet it is here… 🙂

Enjoy your Monday!

Amy

7 thoughts on “Birthday + First Day of School!

  1. Cloudy weather on a run is the best!! Unless it’s like 45 degrees…but I’m sure it wasn’t haha. You’re getting far on the training!! Keep it up!

  2. Pingback: Quinoa and Eggplant ‘Meatless’ Meatballs + Tres Leches (the finale) | The Deviated Runner

  3. Pingback: Sprints For Endurance | The Deviated Runner

  4. Pingback: Weekend of Fun | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

