Sleepy and Stressed

Hey guys!

I know it’s 2:00 in the afternoon, and this is the second time in recent days that I’ve skipped a run, but I promise to make the run up on Saturday or Sunday morning, so that I can finally start Week 5 of C25K.

I set my alarm with good intentions, but when it went off this morning at 6:30, I just knew there was NO way I was getting out of bed.  My eyes were swollen from tossing and turning all night.  I ended up with an 8 yr old little girl squished up against me, a fat old cat wedged between Mer and Dennis, and Dennis and I hanging on to the edges of our bed for dear life.  Not the best sleep arrangement.  On top of that, I’ve been stressing over some craziness in my everyday life.  From postponed sports physicals to undelivered Nike shoes that Colette needs for track(and that’s only the tip of the iceberg)- I am ready to pull my hair out.   I don’t want to sound whiny or pitiful, so I’m going to skim over all the rest and skip to breakfast and lunch.  At least those are the simple parts of my life that I DO have control over…

Breakfast:  I opted for fast and easy oats, since I had an early appt for Colette’s allergy shots(that was supposed to happen yesterday, but never did):

IMG_1259

I made the Cinnamon-banana oats, but added in some slivered almonds for some added crunch and healthy fat.   Of course, a cup of coffee was enjoyed as well(believe me, I needed it!).

IMG_1260

Lunch:  After running to the allergy clinic and a quick detour to return some ear buds Colette bought the other day at Charming Charlie’s, we headed back home for a lunch of finger foods.  I spread some Laughing Cow garlic and herb cheese on Triscuits and topped them with sliced low sodium ham.  I also enjoyed a vanilla DanActive probiotic drink, half an apple, and a couple a half a dozen Brach’s Royal Milk Maid candies.   Not the greatest or healthiest lunch, but hey, I’m just keeping it real.  At least I have a protein bar waiting to be devoured as well.

IMG_1262

IMG_1261

IMG_1263

IMG_1264

Oh, and a grapefruit flavored La Croix.  The grapefruit was a little lacking in the flavor department, but I highly recommend the coconut and orange flavors.

IMG_1265

Questions:

  • Favorite childhood candy?
  • What did you have for lunch today?

Those Brach milk maid candies definitely take me back to my childhood days.  A little old couple lived a couple of houses up from ours, and they ALWAYS had Brach’s in a candy dish on their coffee table, and offered them to us every time we went over there.  I think Starburst come in a close second.  We used to take them outside when we played in the water sprinkler, and claimed the water made them juicier- kind of gross I know, but hey, we were kids.

TGIF!!!

Amy

 

2 thoughts on “Sleepy and Stressed

  1. Not sure about you, but I like the word pamplemousse – on your La Croix can – a lot more than I like the word grapefruit (and actually more than I like GRAPEFRUIT in general).

    I totally know what you mean about a bunch of stuff in life flying at you that you have to deal with. Don’t worry! You’ll get it all taken care of, girl! Have a great weekend!

  2. Pingback: The End of Week 4 + Weekend | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

