Hatch Obsessed

Howdy ya’ll!

Because of all of the fabulous rain that is hitting this poor, desert-like city, I overslept and woke to a dark grey sky.  Ahhh.  Sometimes a sleepy rainy day is just what the doctor ordered!

Breakfast:  Dennis whipped up his veggie eggs again, and we topped them with some hatch chili sauce I picked up at my local HEB store.  Do you guys know what hatch is?  Here is what specialtyproduce.com had to say:

Hatch chiles are a broad marketing term for several varieties of New Mexico chiles, including Big Jim, Barker, and R-Naky. They have a similar meaty flesh and mild-medium heat.

Located right in the middle of the Rio Grande agricultural territory, Hatch, New Mexico, declared itself to be the Chile Capital of the World. “Hatch chilies” refer to the five or six main cultivated varieties of New Mexico chiles. The most common is the NuMex 6-4 Heritge. It comes from a long line developed by New Mexico State University. Others are Barker, Big Jim, and R-Naky. They have similar growth and flavor profiles. New Mexican chiles have a short growing period. They’re planted in April and harvested in August and September.

The ones at our HEB are green and mild in taste.  The crazy part?  They only come 1 month out of the whole year!  And for that 1 month, they are an obsession in these parts of the country.  Seriously.  Hatch chili sauce, hatch flavored tortilla chips(which I bought as well- I was suckered!), hatch sausage, hatch seasoned chicken, hatch peppered bread, hatch toilet paper- OK, so I made that last one up, but Dennis and I were joking about that this morning, saying a commercial for that would be especially awkward, haha.

Anywho, you get the picture, it’s crazy.  But I must admit, it sure is tasty!

IMG_1249

IMG_1248

Cheesy, hatch eggs with a side of turkey bacon- mm, mm good.

IMG_1255

Everytime I use my Pocohontas mug, I end up serenading Dennis with “Can you paint with all the colors of the wind?” in my most obnoxious broadway musical voice. I’m sure he really loves it… 🙂

The next time I make up to HEB, I’ll be sure and snap some pics of the Hatch madness, it’s nuts I tell you.

Questions:

  • Ever tried a hatch pepper?  Or cooked with them? 
  • What is your favorite pepper?

I bought fresh hatch peppers last year to fix in a chicken dish, and I have to say, it was a total pain in the you know what.  You have to roast them, then cover them in a dish with saran wrap to ‘steam’ for a bit.  Once that’s done, you have to carefully peel the outer layer of skin off(you can’t eat the outer skin).  Well, I ended up taking off most of the precious hatch flesh with the skin- it was so frustrating after all of that work.  Not worth the trouble in my opinion.  As far as my favorite pepper goes, hands down- jalapenos!

Alrighty, I’m off to get freshened up for more running around this morning.  A trip to return books to the library, an allergy doctor appt, and some house work are in order.  i need to fit in some strength exercise in there somewhere, that always seems to be the challenge for me.  I’ll keep you posted.

Enjoy your Thursday!

Amy

 

4 thoughts on “Hatch Obsessed

Leave a Reply

