Mixing Things Up

Good morning everybody!

I am feeling quite well this morning, thanks to a little sleeping in and a fun new workout.  Even better yet, I brought back an old favorite breakfast that I haven’t had in a long while…

Breakfast:  As I mentioned yesterday, I had some grocery shopping to do, and instead of the same old stuff day in day out, I was in the mood for a change.  I wanted something quick and easy for breakfast, but still pack in the protein and fiber.  So, instead of eggs or oats this morning, I give you the- Breakfast Waffle Pizza.  Ta da!

IMG_1190

It’s not a necessarily new recipe for me; I used to make this a lot when Colette was a newborn and I was trying to lose the baby weight.  I found the original recipe in Denise Austin’s:  Lose Those Last 10 Pounds, but I have revamped it a bit, to make it a bit tastier and without the white sugar.  Even my picky Meredith loved it!

Breakfast Waffle Pizza

  • 1 mulitgrain frozen waffle
  • 1/2 c part skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 tsp all natural grade A maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • shake of cinnamon
  • 2 tsp fiber supplement(optional)
  • assorted fruit- I used fresh raspberries and blueberries

Pop your waffle in the toaster.  Meanwhile, mix the next 5 ingredients in a small bowl.  Spread your waffle with the cheese mixture and top with fresh fruit.  Easy peasy.  Enjoy!

I am out of coffee this morning, so an emergency run to McDonalds WILL be happening!

Workout:  This morning’s workout was a quick arm workout from Jess’ Summer Shape Up series.  I did Week 1, Day 3, Sculpt Your Arms.  It involves 3 rounds of intense arm moves that you can find here.  Let me tell ya, these workouts are legit!  My arms felt like jell-o by the end.  Ouch.  And they’re sneaky… they involve ab and leg work as well, so you’re really workin’ it all.  I’m hoping to do some core moves as well today.  I just couldn’t finish once my youngest was up.  She’s a demanding little princess in the mornings.  🙂

Yesterday:  Yesterday’s school shopping was a success!  Colette and I hit up JCPenney’s, and managed to pick up only clothes that were on sale- score!  I bought 4 shirts and 1 skirt, and was pleasantly surprised when it only rang up for $46 bucks, yay!  We still have a lot more to buy(yes, we’ve only just begun) but it’s a pretty happy start.

Oh, I also wanted to tell you guys about an awesome little snack I picked up yesterday at my local grocery store.  After picking up Meredith from her playdate, we headed straight to HEB.  She was “starving” and wanted to stop at every sample counter.  We were almost done with our shopping, when Meredith began pulling my arm towards one last table.  The Green Plate Kitchen table was laid out with assorted goodies to try, and boasted vegan and all-natural yummies.  I tried the dark chocolate cherry nibbles which were terrific, but these little babies stole the show:

IMG_1191

They have a tangy, fruity flavor- I knew immediately there were dates in these- and they’re soft and chewy.  I loved them!  They literally only have a few ingredients:  dates, apricots, cranberries, and oats.  That’s it.  They are a little pricey at $4.99 a tiny box, so I won’t be buying these every week.  In fact, I’d love to try and recreate them at home.  I’m sensing a new project…

Alrighty, I’m off to get these girls out of the house.  We need to find something to do today, even if it more school shopping.  Wah-wah-wahhhh.  Plus, I need coffee 🙂

Enjoy your Tuesday!

Amy

3 thoughts on “Mixing Things Up

Leave a Reply

