C25K, Week 3- Day 1, Take 2

Good morning!

I hope everyone had a fun, relaxing weekend.  Mine involved regaining my sense of taste and slowly weaning myself from the Kleenex box after a nasty little cold.  You may remember last week, I took a break from my C25K training to battle it out with those pesky little germs.  Well guess what?  I’mmmm baaack…

Workout:  I really was feeling quite guilty about missing 6 days of exercise, and worried my running would suffer a serious setback.  However, I found this morning’s run was not nearly as scary as I anticipated.  I hopped out of bed around 6:45 am, and set out to re-do the first day of Week 3.  You can see the workout here.  Luckily, the humidity wasn’t too terrible, and there was even a slight breeze.  I really took it s-l-o-w on the walking segments and I had to keep reminding myself to take it easy on the jogging as well.  C25K is not supposed to be about speed, which has always been a struggle for me.  I find that when I pass a moving car or another jogger, I want to pick up the pace and ‘race’ them.  Not a good idea for a beginner (like me) still trying to control wacky breathing and gain endurance.  On the second round of 90 second jogging, I felt the beginnings of a side cramp, but I slowed my pace (a lot) and really focused on my breathing.  The last 3 minute jogging round was killer– but hey, it’s done!  Check!

Breakfast:  I immediately hopped in and out of the shower, and fixed Dennis and myself a bowl of cinnamon-apple-flax-oatmeal.  I used a Tentation apple, and boy was it tasty-

IMG_1182

For the Oats:

  • Throw in half cup of oats
  • 1.5 tsp brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • 2 tsp fiber supplement(optional)
  • half of an apple(I used Tentation)cored and chopped
  • 2-3 shakes of ground cinnamon

Add enough water to saturate oats, and microwave for 1 minute, or until soft.  Mix and enjoy!

I enjoyed a cup of coffee with a splash of coconut creamer on the side- caffeine!

Today’s agenda includes a playdate for Meredith with a school buddy, grocery shopping, and a shoe shopping trip for Colette.  It’s already back to school shopping for us!  School doesn’t start until late August, but Colette is leaving for her first sleep away camp in a few days, and things always sell out and get hectic in the last few weeks before school.  I like to get a head start, even if it means missing out on some of the super cheap sales.

As far as grocery shopping goes, I plan on stocking up on plenty of healthy snacks and dinner items.  I’ve noticed that while I was sick, my eating habits took a serious downturn.  I was reaching for sugary sweets instead of fruit as a snack, and dinners were loaded with pasta and other starchy, fast-fix meals.  Not good.  Time for a meal-planning overhaul!

Alrighty, I’m off to throw on some make-up and dry my hair.  Enjoy your Monday!

Amy

7 thoughts on “C25K, Week 3- Day 1, Take 2

  1. I’m glad you are feeling better! They always say, starve a fever and stuff a cold! Best to eat while you have a cold! Even if it is pasta 😉

  2. Ahhh that apple dish looks delicious! I’m glad you were smart and didn’t decide that it was a good idea to run full out after being off for 6 days. That’s what I did, and now I’m on the way to the doctor to get an x-ray for my knee. Haha c’est la vie. Have a good day girl!

  3. Pingback: Mixing Things Up | The Deviated Runner

  4. Pingback: Sparkling Water=Soda? | The Deviated Runner

  5. Pingback: Week 3 C25K – Complete! | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

