Just Another Manic Monday…

OK, so it’s not really manic, but I was already humming the song- so there you have it.  However, it is Monday, which means  today was day 1 of week 3 of C25K Run Challenge!

Workout:  That’s right folks, today was another chance to begin the week with a new, slightly more torturous workout.  This was the plan for today:

IMG_1176

Three minutes of jogging!!  I know, I know, I’m whining again, but seriously, three minutes!!  Haha.

When I walked out of the front door of my house this morning, the humidity outside literally back-handed me across the face.    Seriously.  Not. Good.  I started things off on the right foot, and felt like I found my pace.  I kept my breathing in line as best as I could(not easy), and pushed my heavy legs up the first incline.  I used the bouts of walking to the fullest advantage, REALLY slowing down and relaxing my shoulders and hands from tensing up(I tend to pull everything up and clench my fists when my breathing gets out of whack).  On the second round of 3 minute jogging, I was SO tired.  My legs felt like lead, and I felt like I was breathing water.  I didn’t stop, but I did slow my pace A LOT, almost to a jog crawl- is that a thing?  Lol.  I sadly made it up the hill to my street and finished the last three minutes of walking to my house.  I’ve never sweat so much in my life.  Literally buckets, gross, just gross.

But hey, it’s done and it’s another day checked off and closer to my goal.  So I’ll drink to that- or at least have some coffee anyway.  I don’t want to discourage anyone from trying this program.  I’m just being honest.  I knew it would be hard,  and I know it will be worth it.  If you’re looking to push yourself and are not a natural or experienced runner(like yours truly), try it for yourself.  I think you’ll be amazed at how much you can push yourself- willpower!  🙂

Breakfast:  Let’s move onto breakfast shall we?  I was starving when I got back inside, but wasn’t stepping a foot in the kitchen until a shower happened.  Dennis(he made it back in town yesterday), made me a batch of the protein pancakes using the recipe I used a couple of weeks ago.  I devoured them before he could sit down to eat his, and had two pieces of bacon as well- like I said, hungry!

IMG_1174

I barely took that picture before my plate was cleared.  Oops.

Over the weekend:  I literally have NO pictures to share from the weekend.  It was such a relaxing, chill couple of days, that I just plain forgot to take any.  I spent Saturday afternoon with my sister Rachel, and her kids, at a rather large indoor playground located inside of a church near their house.  The cousins all had a blast running in and out of tunnels and down giant tube slides, wearing themselves out thoroughly.  With all of the nasty rain and scary lightening, it was the perfect answer to keep everyone happy.  That evening, I rented movies once again(we keep Redbox in business- haha), this time it was Pitch Perfect(which I’d already seen) and Safe Haven(I’d never seen, but loved the book).  Both are good movies, Pitch Perfect is silly and fun, while Safe Haven is serious and romantic(It veered a bit from the book, but was still worth watching).  We had a good time at my mom’s house and even squeezed a swim in between rain showers early Saturday.  Another relaxing weekend on the books!

Today:  As for today, Dennis and I have a fun family outing planned to the Houston Museum of Natural Science.  I bought a Groupon deal a couple of months ago or so, to see the butterfly exhibit and main hall exhibit.  It should be some good family fun after a long week of no husband/daddy.  🙂

Alright, I’m off to get ready, enjoy your Monday!

Amy

7 thoughts on “Just Another Manic Monday…

  1. I think, aside from the 20 minute run in week…5 is it? That the week you’re doing in C25K was the hardest for me, too. Congrats on getting it done!!

    Also, I love bacon, so any excuse to eat it is a good one, even if it’s torturing yourself on a run!

  2. Good job on the run! Running in high humidity sucks sooo bad. It’s best to push through, though, and get it done! Then you can eat. Duh.

  3. Pingback: Museum Outing | The Deviated Runner

  4. Pingback: On the Mend… | The Deviated Runner

  5. Pingback: C25K, Week 3- Day 1, Take 2 | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

