Up For Air

Happy Hump Day everyone!

Today was another run day!  I will say however, I begrudgingly rolled myself out of bed verrrry slowly this morning.  It was around 6:30 when my alarm went off, and still really dark outside with lots of scary dark clouds on the horizon.  It has been raining here in Houston everyday so far this week, and today is no exception.  Lucky for me, it always holds off until after I workout, which means NO excuses.  So with that thought in my head, I threw on my shoes and headed out the door.

Workout:  This morning’s run was a repeat of Monday’s intervals, and I have to say today was hard.  With the nasty impending rain, the humidity was off the charts, which made breathing through my nose extremely difficult.  These are the kind of days that if Dennis were running with me, I would complain, stop, and ramble on about having a deviated septum or asthma.  Truth is, I’ve never been diagnosed with any of those(although I’m pretty sure I do have a deviated septum), and there’s just no reason to complain- I knew I just needed to keep going and finish.  Knowing people are reading my blog, puts the pressure on, and has really made me challenge myself.  I’m loving it.  (Although this morning I was hating it a bit too:) Luckily, The Fighter by Gym Class Heroes came on right as I was coming up the hill to my street- that song always motivates me to push through a workout.  I powered through, and even made it back to my house over a minute and half earlier than normal- crazy right?  Here’s the picture I took immediately after the run:

IMAG0780

Coming up for air.

Breakfast:  Breakfast consisted of two runny eggs and an all-natural Immaculate Cranberry Orange Biscuit.  I devoured the eggs before I could snap a picture, but here’s a photo of the truly yummy biscuit I had- they kind of taste like animal crackers!

IMG_1164

After literally scarfing down breakfast, I headed out the door with kids in tow, to make a our morning carpool switch-a-roo and head to the church.  The kids are having a blast this year at VBS camp.  This church really does an amazing job to keep the kids engaged, having fun, and learning to appreciate their blessings.  They come home every day with crazy colored hair, face paint, and goodies- and most importantly with a message:

Meredith showing 'Cookie' her kitty face.

Meredith showing ‘Cookie’ her kitty face.

Gosh, I love that kid 🙂

Questions:

  • Do you have a song that makes you power through a tough workout?
  • If you’re a coffee drinker, what is your favorite quick-order place/brand?

As I said earlier, The Fighter is absolutely my favorite run-high inducing song.  But Katy Perry’s Firework probably comes in a close second.   As far as coffee is concerned, I’ve been known to grab a cup from Shipley’s donuts, McDonalds, and Starbucks.  I’m not much of a coffee snob, I just grab what’s closest or on the way.

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Amy

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Up For Air

  1. I love that song! I used to run to it as well. Any kind of Skrillex or Dub Step on my iPhone will push me through the tough workouts! I love the beat.
    Dunkin Donuts allll the way. Their coffee is the best. Or McDonalds, actually! My drink order is usually an iced coffee with one cream. Simple!
    Those biscuits look so good!!

  2. It’s the BEST when you’re getting to a really hard part of your run and a good song comes on. “Shake Ya Tailfeathers” (old school, I know) is my absolute favorite song to run to. It always gets another mile out of me.

  3. Pingback: Fitness Questions | The Deviated Runner

  4. Totally agree with Pink Runner Girl on the Skrillex motivating me to run… although that makes me look weird as I unconsciously start “animating” with my arms while I run, people must be freaked out. Anyway, my ultimate running song is Pump It by Black Eyed Peas – can’t get enough of that one!

  5. Pingback: Birthday + First Day of School! | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

