Spontaneous Weekend Adventure + 20 Minute Chicken Enchiladas

Happy Monday to you all!

So, I promised to share the chicken enchilada recipe I teased you with last week, and in case you don’t remember, here’s a little photo to jog your memory:

IMG_1117

But, before we get to that, let’s start with this morning’s workout and breakfast…

Workout:  Today was the start of Week 2 on the C25K challenge, which involved this bit of sweaty torture:

IMG_1158

Didn’t realize there was a kitty hair on my screen until after I uploaded, oh well.  lol

The run wasn’t quite as torturous as I was anticipating, but it certainly left me a bit more breathless and I really had to focus to keep my breathing in check.  No side cramping this run- so that was a big plus.

Breakfast:  Breakfast was scrambled eggs with mushrooms and onions(a la Dennis) which I quickly shoved in my mouth before I had to zip out the door to drop the girls off at VBS camp.  They always go to VBS in the summer, but this year Colette has aged out of the small groups and took the opportunity to be a teen/youth volunteer.  Therefore, instead of our normal 9:15 drop off, I had to have her at the church by 8:30… it made for an interesting shuffle of kids between my friends kids and my kids carpooling.   Let’s just say it’s an exact science- haha.

Our weekend was a fun mix of just hanging out with our little family.  On Friday, the girls planned a lemonade stand at the end of our street.  The offered fudge striped cookies(that NO one bought) and good old fashioned lemonade.  They had a blast hollering at the passing cars and chanting  for attention.

IMG_1139

IMG_1142

IMG_1150

IMG_1156

It was ridiculously hot, but they made the best of it- and best of all, they made $23.00!!  Of course they had to split that, but hey, not bad for 1.5 hours of pouring lemonade.

Later that evening, we I decided I didn’t feel like cooking, so I waiting for Dennis to get off work and headed over to Hibachi Buffet:

IMAG0737

They have a huge buffet, with tons of seafood(some I’m not daring enough to try)and a fresh grill, where you can select your raw meats and veggies and have them cook them for you on the spot.  Love that.  I selected the beef with broccoli, onions, and sprouts:

IMAG0735

Tasty!

Once that was gone, it was time to hit the dessert bar.  Three items caught my eye, so I decided what the heck, and loaded ‘er up:

Mango Ice cream, cream puff, and cheese cake

Mango Ice cream, cream puff, and cheese cake

That mango ice cream was hands down the star of the show.  Tangy, creamy, and ohhhh so yummy.

When we left the restaurant, an electrical storm was moving in and we had quite the lightening show.  The wind was whipping pretty good too.  The girls and I had fun saying we had model hair:

IMAG0738

Saturday started off as kind of a blah day, but around 12:00, Dennis and I had the brilliant idea to head out to Galveston Island State Park to catch some sun and waves.  Or at least the girls and I would while he went fishing in the kayak…  The drive there went smoothly and everyone seemed to be excited.  That didn’t last.  Once we unloaded the kayak and dropped Dennis off, I headed over to the gate of the park to sign in with our state park card.  The lady refused to take it, since I was not the card carrier(Dennis).  Sooo, we headed back across the strand to stay with the kayak, while Dennis signed in.  Meanwhile, Meredith stepped in a mud pit and managed to lose both of her flip flops- awesome.  I was already feeling a bit frazzled at this point, and knew Mer’s feet were going to be on fire once we hit the sand.   Dennis made it back, we headed back across the strand, checked in(thanks lady)and had to park allll the way at the back of the lot- it was packed.  Then, just the girls and I, lugged our easy-up tent, a cooler, beach bag, and boogie boards the 1/4 a mile or so through the sand to our spot- not fun when you’re dealing with hot, tired little girls.  Now comes the really awesome part.  When we went to set up the “easy-up”(ain’t nothing easy about it!)the wind was so bad, it blew it over and I had to lay on it to hold it down.  Luckily, an older gentleman took pity and assisted us in setting up the rest.  I was so embarrassed, all I wanted to do was curl up under the tent and pretend like nothing happened.  Lesson:  Spontaneous trip where Dennis heads off fishing by himself= not a good idea.  Needless to say, we survived, but I won’t be doing that again.  I will say, however, the girls still managed to have a great time, and in the end, so did I:

IMAG0759

IMAG0767

Mer made a friend for the day!

Mer made a friend for the day!

IMAG0777

Heading back… lovely sunset.

All in all, it was fun weekend with the family(hard times and all! haha)

Anywho, moving on to those enchiladas I mentioned earlier…

I used the 20-Minute Chicken Enchilada recipe from the latest edition of Cooking Light magazine.  I had high hopes for this recipe, and it didn’t disappoint.  I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, as I didn’t have the rotisserie chicken it called for, so I just used what I had- thawed chicken breasts that I broiled for 10 minutes(5 on each side).  I also cut back on the onion(my girls aren’t fans), used low-sodium broth, and served the enchiladas with plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream(it’s much healthier that way!).

IMG_1124

I’ve written up the recipe below, as I made them.  You can check out the actual recipe here.  Enjoy!

20-Minute Chicken Enchiladas

(Recipe adapted from July 3013 edition Cooking Light)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup pre-chopped onion
  • 1 cup low-sodium chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 3/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (15-ounce) can unsalted tomato sauce
  • 3 cups shredded skinless, boneless chicken breast (about 15 ounces) either from broiled chicken breasts(about 3) or rotisserie
  • 1 (15-ounce) can unsalted black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 10 (6-inch) corn tortillas
  • Cooking spray
  • 1 c  pre-shredded 4-cheese Mexican blend cheese
  • 1 cup chopped tomato
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • plain Greek yogurt to garnish as needed (or low fat sour cream)

1. Preheat broiler to high.

2. Combine first 9 ingredients in a medium saucepan; stir with a whisk. Bring to a boil over high heat; cook 2 minutes or until slightly thickened. Reserve 1 1/2 cups sauce mixture. Add chicken and beans to pan; cook 2 minutes or until chicken is thoroughly heated.

3. Stack tortillas; wrap stack in damp paper towels and microwave at HIGH for 25 seconds. Spoon about 1/3 cup chicken mixture in center of each tortilla; roll up. Arrange tortillas, seam sides down, in bottom of a 13 x 9-inch glass or ceramic baking dish coated with cooking spray. Top with reserved sauce and cheese. Broil 3 minutes or until cheese is lightly browned and sauce is bubbly. Top with tomato and cilantro. Serve with sour cream(or plain greek yogurt like I did).

Have a fantastic Monday!

Amy

9 thoughts on “Spontaneous Weekend Adventure + 20 Minute Chicken Enchiladas

  1. Looks like y’all had a great time at the beach once you got past the hiccups! That was the story of my weekend too (going through lots of headaches to get to the fun, but enjoying it once it was there). Also, I love hibachi!

    • Hiccups make the journey that much more memorable, don’t they? Dennis and I kept joking on the way home that we couldn’t stop to eat anything good or do anything fun because that would make the ‘worst trip ever’ seem not so ‘worst’. haha

  2. YUM Those enchiladas look amazing. I’m impressed by the 23 bucks your girls made. They are beautiful by the way. Obviously get it from their mom haha. Keep runnin’!!

  3. Pingback: A Hairy Decision | The Deviated Runner

  4. Pingback: Up For Air | The Deviated Runner

  5. Pingback: Fitness Questions | The Deviated Runner

  6. Pingback: Week 2 of Run Challenge… Done! | The Deviated Runner

  7. Pingback: On the Mend… | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

