Week 1 of the C25K Complete!

Good morning everybody!

Have you ever had one of those mornings where you woke up from a dream that put you in a bad mood all morning?  I don’t normally remember my dreams, but this morning I woke from an awful dream that immediately left me feeling irritable and grouchy.  On top of that, I couldn’t seem to find my ear buds for my phone, and I ended up banging around the house at 7:15 this morning mumbling angrily to myself.  I was like the dad from “The Christmas Story” movie, when he has to fix the furnace… not pretty.  Thankfully, Dennis was kind enough to lend me his ear buds(out of sheer pity and fear- haha) which I glady snapped up and headed out to do my final run for the week.  That’s right friends, I have officially finished Week 1 of the 9 Week C25K Challenge!!!

IMG_1137

 I used my morning irritability to power through the first half of my run with virtually no pain or trouble in any way.  It felt great.  I didn’t cramp the entire run, and really focused on keeping my breathing as steady as was possible. (Thanks to a tip from PinkRunnerGirl)  I made sure to breathe in for 3-4 steps, and out for the same.  It definitely kept me more aware of when my breathing became shallow, and gave me something to focus on when my body started to get tired.   The last 6 minutes were tough, especially since my street is an uphill climb, but I finished feeling excited.  Yay!  My mood was immediately lifted!

It’s not too late to join me on this challenge.  So if you’re wanting to amp up your walking routine or train for a 5K, feel free to lace up and take the challenge!

Breakfast this morning, was easy peasy- half of a toasted blueberry bagel smeared with low fat cream cheese, a banana, and a cup of coffee with a splash of creamer.  Not fancy, but it hit the spot:

IMG_1134

This post is going to be simple and sweet like my breakfast, because I’m about to head out the door for a doctor appt for my youngest munchkin.  I don’t have much else planned for today, so we’ll see where the day leads.  TGIF!

Enjoy your Friday!

Amy

 

5 thoughts on “Week 1 of the C25K Complete!

  1. Yay!! I’m so happy you followed my tip and more importantly that it worked for you! I hope you have an awesome weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

