Fun Weekend + Run Challenge

Good morning!

I had a super fun, crazy busy weekend, which I’ll get to in a moment -but let’s start with something BIG… the C25K Run Challenge!!!

runchallenge

That’s right friends, I was up at 6:30 am this morning, strapped on the ‘ole running shoes, and hit the pavement for my first day of Couch to 5k training.  Last night I downloaded the ‘Simple C25K’ app on my Android phone, which keeps track of completed runs, times my intervals, and allows me to play music, but still hear a simple ‘beep’ when my intervals switch up.  I love this app!  Here is what day one looks like:

IMG_1026

Today’s workout felt somewhat easy.  I’m assuming that’s because I”ve been exercising pretty consistently, and am in better shape than the last time I did c25k. (That’s not to say I wasn’t puffing a bit and disgustingly sweaty!) However, I know this is only going to get more challenging, and I can’t wait!  If you want to join me(it doesn’t matter when you start), you can find the info about C25K here.  I’d love to hear about your 5K journey!

Once my workout was finished, I hopped in and out of the shower, and made myself a bowl of cinnamon, almond butter oats and a cup of coffee with coconut creamer.

IMG_1020

For the oats:

  • I threw in a 1/2 c dry oats
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • a sprinkle of salt
  • 1 TBS almond butter
  • a sprinkle of cinnamon

Cover with water and microwave for 1 minute or until most of the water is absorbed.  Mmmmm.

Moving on to the weekend… Friday was all about hanging with the fam again.  Rachel’s family didn’t make it to my mom’s house, but Shannon’s family and the girls, my mom, and I had a blast hanging out poolside and eating tons of yummy food.  Meredith even made everyone slurpees with her fancy new slurpee machine thanks to a late birthday gift from her Aunt Shannon and Uncle Brent.

IMAG0663

IMG_0997

Even Henry worked on his tan…

Recently Updated

IMG_1007

Chocolate dipped strawberries w/blue sprinkles courtesy of my girls 🙂

Later that evening, I made all of the adults a raspberry margarita from the recipe I found in a recent Cooking Light magazine article.  They a took a bit of effort, but were sooo worth the work!  We all agreed they were awesome!

IMAG0665

We sipped on our ritas while watching The Identity Thief.  I thought the movie was funny, albeit, a little slower than some of the other recent comedies I’ve seen.  I just love Melissa Mcarthy- she’s a total hoot and has no shame!

On Saturday morning, Dennis drove up to meet the girls and I, for some go-karting and golf at Mountasia.  You may remember our previous Mountasia adventures from this post.  We made sure to bring tennis shoes this time, and had a fun time driving go-karts and playing in the arcade.  The golf… not so much.  The girls were hot and tired, and wanted no part of it.  After some serious whining, we ditched the golf course and headed back to the go-karts- hey, gotta keep everyone happy :).

Recently Updated2

Later that night, Dennis and I met up with Jake and Weiwei for some Laser Tag at Laser Quest.  I had originally intended to do a nice dinner and something less active(hence the strapless top and white capris) but Dennis and I ate a late lunch and weren’t big on the original plans.  Good thing I had my running shoes!(yes, I know they look dorky with my outfit, but I quickly changed into my sandals, when we headed over to the Old City Pub for shuffleboard and pool) .  Jake was the only experienced Laser Tagger, and I must say, it is a new favorite for the rest of us.  We absolutely loved it.  We all decided this would be a new, regular date night for us.  Not to mention, it’s a serious workout; I was sweating like a crazy fool afterwards!

Recently Updated1

We ended our weekend at my mom’s with Sunday morning donuts and more swimming(Dennis headed back home after the donuts):

IMG_1016

Those blueberry cake ones were the JAM!

Oh, and some of my mom’s zucchini bread covered with peanut butter- mmmmm.

IMG_1015

When the girls and I got home, Dennis greeted us with a large pot of steamed snow crab:

IMG_1019

Yeah, like I said, this past weekend we consumed a lot of yummy food.

That pretty much sums up the weekend…phew, that was a long post! I hope you all had a fabulous weekend, and don’t forget about the C25K run challenge!!

Enjoy your Monday!

Amy

23 thoughts on “Fun Weekend + Run Challenge

  1. WOW so much good food! Love those blueberry cake donuts.
    I’ve never done the Couch to 5k program. I’ve always been an avid runner but I’ve heard great things about it!

  2. Pingback: Tiny Dancer | The Deviated Runner

  3. Pingback: Oatmeal P.Butter Energy Cookies | The Deviated Runner

  4. Pingback: What I’m Loving… In July | The Deviated Runner

  5. Pingback: Week 1 of the C25K Complete! | The Deviated Runner

  6. Pingback: Spontaneous Weekend Adventure + 20 Minute Chicken Enchiladas | The Deviated Runner

  7. Pingback: A Hairy Decision | The Deviated Runner

  8. Pingback: Up For Air | The Deviated Runner

  9. Pingback: Week 2 of Run Challenge… Done! | The Deviated Runner

  10. Pingback: Just Another Manic Monday… | The Deviated Runner

  11. Pingback: On the Mend… | The Deviated Runner

  12. Pingback: 15 Random Facts About Me… | The Deviated Runner

  13. Pingback: C25K, Week 3- Day 1, Take 2 | The Deviated Runner

  14. Pingback: Week 3 C25K – Complete! | The Deviated Runner

  15. Pingback: C25K: Week 4, Day 1 | The Deviated Runner

  16. Pingback: A Birthday Weekend + Shopping | The Deviated Runner

  17. Pingback: Sleepy and Stressed | The Deviated Runner

  18. Pingback: Birthday + First Day of School! | The Deviated Runner

  19. Pingback: Tres Leches In The Works! | The Deviated Runner

  20. Pingback: Sprints For Endurance | The Deviated Runner

  21. Pingback: Bananas Foster Oats | The Deviated Runner

  22. Pingback: V Flies = Ow. | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

