Barre, Oats, and a Visit

Good morning!

Happy Friday to you all!  This morning started with a nice, early Barre workout courtesy of Pilates Union on Youtube.

The instructor has a strong accent and reminds me a lot of Jane Seymour:

 Jane Seymour Picture

photo via IMDb

Seriously.  Check out the video and see for yourself.  The workout was tough, especially the calf raises- holy cow!  I had to stop a couple of times before I cramped up, ow.

Once I finished torturing myself, I jumped in the kitchen and fixed another awesome bowl of blueberry danish oatmeal.

  • 1 TBS brown sugar
  • 1/2 c oats
  • sprinkle of salt
  • shake of cinnamon
  • 1 Tsp 1/3 less fat cream cheese
  • a handful of fresh blueberries

Throw all of the above in a microwave safe bowl, add enough water to cover oats, and heat for 1 minute or until the water is absorbed.  Top with a spoonful of regular vanilla yogurt and enjoy!

IMG_0820

Mmmmm

Mmmmm

As those of you that follow my Instagram account may know, my big sister, Shannon, and her 3 kiddos came over for a visit yesterday!  It’s not very often we get visitors on our side of town(we live further towards the city than most of our family), so it was a nice change of pace.

Shannon is my older sister by 3 yrs(I’m the middle of 3 girls!), and has two boys, Charlie & David (ages 5 & 2 mths) and a girl, Katie (5).

IMG_20130627_142821

When her kids and my kids get together, they always have a blast.  They don’t see each other as much during the school year, so we try to get as much playtime with them as possible in the summer.  They arrived at my house around 10:30 or so, and after visiting for a bit, we all headed over to a local pool for some more fun in the sun.

IMG_20130627_144319

They’re a rowdy bunch!

After spending a couple of hours in the water(the baby slept the entire time!), we headed back to my house for some lunch.  The kids played hard for a bit longer, and before we knew it, it was time to say goodbye.

It was hard to let this little guy go.

It was hard to let this little guy leave.

Thankfully we are planning on another get together soon, along with my other sister, Rachel, and her kiddos.  Hurray for summer playdates!

Alrighty, I’m off for some crafty fun with Mer, and a quick trip to the bank.  I don’t have anything extravagant planned for the weekend, just hanging out with the fam.

Enjoy your Friday!

Amy

3 thoughts on “Barre, Oats, and a Visit

  1. Pingback: Consignment + Lunch Date | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

