Banana Soft Serve

Howdy ya’ll! I just wanted to do a quick post about the yummy dessert the girls and I ‘indulged’ in last night:  Banana soft serve with honey-sugared pecans… oh yeahhhh.

IMG_0816

It all started when the girls started begging for dessert- ice cream in particular.  I had previously frozen several bananas in a ziploc bag for future breakfast smoothies, and remembered seeing Julie from PBFingers make a berry soft serve by simply blending up some frozen berries in a blender and eating it like ice cream.  Sounds easy enough, right?  So, with frozen bananas on hand, and a bag of frozen pecans(we get them every Christmas from Dennis’ grandma), I got to work.

First, I threw a handful of pecans, a drizzle of honey, a heaping tsp of brown sugar, and a shake of pumpkin pie spice into a metal pan:

keep the heat low!

keep the heat low!

I turned the flame on low, and kept a close eye on the pecans while stirring constantly.  It should heat up and bubble a bit to caramelize the sugar and look like this:

tastes like candy

tastes like candy

Turn the flame off, and continue to toss the pecans to evenly coat in the sugar/honey mixture.  Let that sit while you toss your frozen bananas into the blender(I used 3 small ones), and blend into a thick frozen custard/soft serve consistency.  Scoop out your soft serve into a bowl, top with the candied pecan topping, and enjoy your healthy version of soft serve ice cream!  Let’s see that final photo one more time for good measure:

IMG_0816

freaking awesome!

Alright, I’m off to finish some last minute sprucing up before company gets here(I’ll fill you in on all of the details later:).  I’m going to do my best to fit a barre or yoga workout in there somewhere, so stay tuned.

Enjoy your Thursday!

Amy

 

One thought on “Banana Soft Serve

  1. Pingback: Bananas and Ice Cream and Pie Crust, Oh My! | Positively Smitten

Leave a Reply

