Running Hair

Hello all!

So, after a long, relaxing weekend spent at my mom’s house, we are finally back home.  The girls and I stayed through Monday, to hang out a bit more, while Dennis left on Sunday afternoon.  We had such a good time hanging out with my mom and swimming, we didn’t want to leave!  But I suppose all good things must come to an end…

After a good night’s sleep, I woke up this morning feeling pretty energized and ready for a run.  I normally try to do a yoga workout on Tuesdays, but I just wasn’t feeling it this morning.  I threw on the ole’ running shoes and hit the pavement for a 30 minute power walk, with spurts of running every so often.  I was huffing and puffing by the time it was over, but I enjoyed the rush.  I downloaded a couple of new songs that I absolutely love- Shell Suite by Chad Valley, and On Top of the World by Imagine Dragons– I lurve those songs so much!  They definitely put some pep in my step this morning!  (P.s. I heard Shell Suite while watching Warm Bodies over the weekend.  That movie was soo much better than I was expecting.  It was pretty darn cute, and quite funny too.  Redbox came through for me this weekend!)

I also wanted to share a little running secret with you guys today.  Okay, so it’s not a ‘running’ secret so much as a hair secret while running.  Okay, maybe it’s not a secret but whatever.  I have pretty long hair(and a lot of it) so running or power walking with a regular pony tail drives me batty.  Seriously.  The pony elastic immediately starts to slide down, while the end of my ponytail is brushing back and forth on my sweaty back- ew.  I don’t need unnecessary bacne ya’ll.  I have figured out a fool-proof way to keep my hair up, with virtually no slide down.  Check this out:

hair

I do a typical sloppy ponytail, you know, where you don’t actually complete the entire last pull through of hair, leaving a dangling circle of hair rather than the typical straight down ponytail(similar to the first picture in the series above).  Then I grab my toothy clip, and grab the bottom of the loopy ponytail with the top of the ‘teeth’ and dig the lower set of ‘teeth’ into the hair on the back lower part of my head.  That hair ain’t going anywhere.  It’s a great ‘do’ for running or doing any standing fast-paced workouts.  However, any exercise on the floor- not so great.   That clip hurts to lay on!  😉

Do you guys have any great running hair tips?  I’m always open for suggestions- I’d love to hear them!

Is it too late in the post now to tell you what I had for breakfast?  Probably not, so I’ll just slide it in there really fast.  I had a veggie omelette with cheese(a la Dennis) and a strip or two of center cut bacon.  Of course, a hot cup of coffee with coconut creamer was also consumed.

IMAG0524

Morning fuel!

As for the rest of my day- I should probably hit the grocery store since I have nothing planned for dinner and the pantry is virtually empty.  At the moment, this is what’s going on in our house:

IMAG0527

Enjoy the rest of your Tuesday!

-Amy

Leave a Reply

