Tai Chicken Burgers

Something smelled fishy in our house last night… Fish Sauce!!

Had I ever used it before?  No.

Did I think it smelled disgusting?  Yes.

Was I nervous about ruining a pound of ground chicken with it?  Yes.

Did the tai burgers taste OK?  Yes, yes they did…

Last night, I decided to try yet another recipe from the book It’s All Good by Gwyneth Paltrow- Chicken burgers, Tai style.  While I love Tai food, I had never attempted to make any Tai food at home.  The recipe is soooo simple and straightforward, and the kids devoured them(I didn’t tell them there was fish sauce in them-I’m not crazy!).  The only odd ingredient was the fish sauce, and at my local HEB I was able to pick it up for less than $2.00- not bad!  I did omit the red chili(I knew the kids would never go for anything remotely spicy) and I substituted regular old white onion for shallots.  Tasty!

IMG_0532

 

Colette had a couple of friends over for a sleep over, so I had to divide the burgers up a little more than originally planned, to make more of a slider-size rather than full-size burger.  I served them on whole wheat buns, and offered sliced tomatoes and condiments on the side.

The recipe is as follows:

Chicken burgers- Tai Style

  • 1 pound ground chicken
  • 2 garlic cloves, very finely minced
  • 2/3 c cilantro, finely chopped
  • 2 shallots, very finely minced (I used onion)
  • 1 tsp very finely minced red chili (or more or less, however hot you like it)  ( I omitted this, but I would have loved it!)
  • 2 tsp fish sauce
  • 1/2 tsp coarse sea salt (I used regular ‘ole salt)
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp neutral oil (like canola, grapeseed, or safflower)  (I used canola)

Thoroughly mix the chicken with the garlic, cilantro, shallots, red chili, fish sauce, salt, and pepper.  Form the mixture into 4 burgers, each about 3/4 inch thick.

Heat a grill or grill pan over medium heat.  (I used an electric grill)  Rub each burger on both sides with a bit of oil and grill for about 8 minutes on the first side and another 5 minutes on the second, or until nicely marked and firm to the touch.

Enjoy!

Now, onto my morning.  I started off the morning waking up a bit early, around 7:00 am, and slipped on my running shoes.

IMG_0548Somebody, however, was not so interested in a workout…

IMG_0550

Oh, Henry…

I headed out for an invigorating 40 min power walk around the neighborhood.  It felt great, and there was actually an abnormally cool-ish breeze. -Strange for Houston in June-  When I got back, my little one was stirring, so we dove into a bowl of Cheerios and I grabbed a handful of cherries on the side.

IMG_0535

IMG_0541

 

I love cherries!  Even on sale they are ridiculously expensive, but I can’t resist them- they are just so darn good!

Alright, I’m off to start my day.  I have girls to drive home and laundry to get done before the weekend.  Meredith’s birthday is tomorrow, and we have a little family gathering planned.  Then it’s date night on Saturday night- can’t wait for that!  I’ll fill you in on all the details later.  TGIF!

Amy

Leave a Reply

