Grilled Salmon Burgers

Hello, hello!  Happy hump day, Wednesday!  Today is going to be another busy one, so let’s get on with the usual drill- breakfast…

Dennis woke up early this morning to make a pancake breakfast for everyone before running out the door.  He made old-school Bisquick flapjacks with bacon and eggs on the side.  This was all that was left when I remembered to take a picture:

IMAG0438Yes, I was definitely feeling the Pocahontas coffee cup this morning.  Sometimes you just gotta embrace your inner Disney…  I also tried a little something different this morning, coconut milk coffee creamer:

IMAG0440As I was perusing the creamer section yesterday at HEB, this SO Delicious creamer caught my eye.  I’ve been having a bit of trouble with regular dairy creamers and milks, so I thought this might be a good substitute.  It doesn’t taste super coconut-y like I thought it would, in fact, it doesn’t have a super strong taste at all.  I like the subtle vanilla flavor with no gross aftertaste.  I’d say it’s a winner!

Last night, as promised, I tried out a new recipe from the Cooking Light website, Salmon Burgers!  It was my first time attempting salmon burgers (I’ve made salmon patties many times), so I was nervous that they would be difficult and would fall apart as I flipped them- which I’d read many times over by other reviewers.  They were surprisingly easy and did not fall apart.  Here’s a little bit of the process, and I’ll follow it up with the actual recipe:

After mixing the initial salmon “paste” out of mustard, lemon rind, and salmon in the food processor, I coarsely chopped the remaining 3/4 lb of salmon in the processor and mixed it with the “paste”.

The paste actually looked like eggs mixed in...

The paste actually looked like eggs…

Then, after mixing, I shaped them into burger patties and spread them out on a foil-lined cookie sheet.

IMAG0419

I popped the sheet in the freezer, and prepared the electric grill on medium heat.  I also used this time to mix up the honey mustard sauce and arugula topping.  I then removed the patties from the freezer, sprayed each side with cooking spray, and threw 2 at a time on the grill.  While waiting, I threw the whole wheat buns on a hot iron skillet to toast.

Three minutes and they're done!

Three minutes and they’re done!

I quickly removed the buns, spread them with honey mustard sauce and arugula topping, and topped each one with a patty- voila!  perfect.

Git in mah belly!

Git in mah belly!

The family enjoyed them (Dennis thought they needed more spice, so he threw on a little salt and pepper) and I think I will definitely try them again.  Maybe next time with some more variation, like blue cheese and spinach, and probably some tomato as well.

For dessert, we had 100 calorie Blue Bell ice cream sandwiches- which the girls definitely appreciated, but complained they were too small…

IMAG0425IMAG0426

Here is the recipe for the Salmon Burgers via Cooking Lite:

Ingredients

1 pound skinless center-cut salmon fillets, cut into 1-inch pieces, divided

  • 2 tablespoons Dijon mustard, divided
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon rind
  • 2 tablespoons minced fresh tarragon
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped shallots (about 1 small)
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 cup arugula leaves
  • 1/2 cup thinly sliced red onion
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • Cooking spray
  • 4 (1 1/2-ounce) hamburger buns, toasted

Preparation

  1. Place 1/4 pound salmon, 1 tablespoon mustard, and rind in a food processor; process until smooth. Spoon puree into a large bowl. Place remaining 3/4 pound salmon in food processor; pulse 6 times or until coarsely chopped. Fold chopped salmon, tarragon, shallots, salt, and pepper into puree. Divide mixture into 4 equal portions, gently shaping each into a 1/2-inch-thick patty. Cover and chill until ready to grill.
  2. Preheat grill to medium heat.
  3. Combine the remaining 1 tablespoon mustard and honey in a small bowl, and set aside.
  4. Combine arugula, onion, juice, and oil in a medium bowl. Set aside.
  5. Lightly coat both sides of burgers with cooking spray. Place patties on a grill rack; grill 2 minutes. Carefully turn patties, and grill for an additional 1 minute or until desired degree of doneness. Place 1 patty on bottom half of each bun; top each serving with 1 1/2 teaspoons honey mixture, 1/4 cup arugula mixture, and top half of bun.

J. Kenji Lopez-Alt, Cooking Light
JULY 2010

Alright, off I go to workout.  I’m thinking a power walk/jog sounds good.  It’s not too sunny today, so hopefully my skin won’t melt in the Houston heat.  Enjoy your Wednesday,

Amy

2 thoughts on “Grilled Salmon Burgers

  1. Pingback: Fun Weekend + Run Challenge | The Deviated Runner

  2. Pingback: C25K, Week 3- Day 1, Take 2 | The Deviated Runner

Leave a Reply

