Busy Holiday

Sooo, it’s been a busy, crazy, fun-filled holiday weekend!  I hope you all had a safe holiday and spent lots of time with loved ones and friends.  I can’t wait to share all of our family shenanigans-

But, first things first- breakfast…
IMAG0405
Breakfast consisted of a warm bowl of chocolate, cinnamon, peanut butter oatmeal and a cup of coffee with a shot of creamer.  The oatmeal was simple enough:  throw in a half c of oats, a tsp of brown sugar, a dollop of p. butter, and 1/2 tsp of cocoa powder.  Add water  until oats are moist and microwave 1 minute or until soft.  Yum!

Alright, get ready to be drown in pictures… 🙂

Let’s start where we left off shall we?  On Friday, after completing a 30 minute circuit workout,  a few hours were spent finishing the birthday cake I’d been working on- yes, there were SIX layers of colored cake to be decorated for the rainbow themed birthday party :-0

I must be crazy...

I must be crazy…

The cake was very simple on the outside, but the inside wowed the crowd(if I do say so myself;)  It was a hit at the party!IMAG0403The girls had lots of fun taking underwater pictures with the coolpix camera we bought-

Mermaids

Mermaids

They ended up spending the night at my friends’ house, so Dennis and I had an evening to ourselves.

Saturday started bright and early, when Dennis packed up to leave for a camping trip with friends at Martin Dies State Park (creepy name right?)  I packed my bags as well, picked the girls up, and headed to my mom’s house for a little down time and to drop the dog off, before we drove another 20 minutes to my younger sister, Rachel’s, house.  Did you get all of that?  It was Rachel’s twins’ fifth birthday, and they celebrated with some of their closest friends and family.  (Sorry no pics of this one, I was too busy chatting!)

After the party my mom drove us back to her house to hang out and spend the night.  We were tired!  On Sunday, we headed to my mom’s church for a late service and back to her house for a fun day of swimming, hot dogs/hamburgers, and a balloon release in honor of what would have been my dad’s 62nd birthday.  My cousin Jake and his girlfriend Weiwei attended as well as Rachel, her husband Harold, and her kiddos.   My older sister, Shannon,  could not attend due to my niece, Katy, getting sick.  All in all it was a fun, relaxing day.  My girls swam a lot.

DSCN0609DSCN0604

Even Henry had an exciting visit- barking through the fence!

Even Henry had an exciting visit- barking through the fence!

Can't forget about the Blue Bell ice cream!!   Orange swirl was a major hit!

Can’t forget about the Blue Bell ice cream!! Orange swirl was a major hit!

Unfortunately, the balloon release photos didn’t come out very well.  My mom bought a helium tank to blow the balloons up, and we inserted small glow sticks to light them up with.  The effect was really cool, and I thought it was a very nice gesture to remember my dad’s first birthday since he passed in October.

Love you Dad!!

Love you Dad!!

Monday was spent relaxing at home with the kiddos and husband(he made it home on Monday morning). We were all pretty beat, but Dennis did manage to take the girls to a nearby park so I could get some reading done…  it’s getting really good!

Well, I’m off to finish my grocery list and get a yoga workout in- it is yoga Tuesday afterall!  I’ll let ya know how it goes 🙂

Enjoy your Tuesday,

Amy

Leave a Reply

