Running with Confidence

It was back to the ole’ morning routine, as Dennis made his fabulous veggie scrambled egg wraps.

Alongside a hot cup of joe and some blackberries. Mmmmm.

Alongside a hot cup of joe and some blackberries.
Mmmmm.

After a long internal debate on what to do for my morning workout, I decided to hit the pavement for a 40 minute power walk/run.  Okay, so there was technically only a couple of minutes of actual running, but I’m definitely getting that urge again to really truck it.  After Tuesday’s yoga and Monday’s circuit workout, my legs and rear end were seriously feeling the burn- ow.

Before

Before

After- check out the red face!

After- check out the red face!

I always end up looking like a lobster face after workouts, what can I say?

For the last couple of weeks, there has been a lot of activity in our neighborhood- construction crews and city workers.  They are digging up old pipes and laying new ones to alleviate flooding and improve water flow.  There are guys everywhere.  I have to say it’s a little unnerving to feel like people are watching you as you walk or run past them.  I feel self-conscious enough about my running skills, so when I feel like someone is watching every step or simply checking me out from behind, it’s embarrassing.  It’s not just with the guys outside today, but even with other men and women running or walking themselves.  So, when I decided to head out this morning, it was with a little trepidation, but I’m glad I did it.  I think learning to be comfortable with running and exercise, is also learning to be confident in ones’ self.  I definitely struggle in that department, so small steps (like busting into an exhausted run in front of a group of strangers) is a big deal for me.  It may seem silly to some, but I’m pretty proud I put myself out there today.  I’m trying to learn not to let myself get caught up in other people judging me, I just have to be me and be OK with that.  Plus, those guys out there today truthfully, could probably care less about what I was doing anyway.

Does anyone else out there struggle with this?  Surely I’m not the only one…

Alright, I’m off to hit the shower and grab a bite to eat for lunch.  I have some clean up to do around the house, and maybe a little baby shopping.  Meredith’s teacher is having a baby shower next week (a baby girl, due in June!) and I still need to get her a gift from her registry.

Have a great afternoon!

Amy

Leave a Reply

